TLZone Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
603 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so here is the problem i am encountering. i recently went on a VERY long trip. i had the oil leak in my airbox from the faulty air oil seperator so i had oil EVERYWHERE. i started having problems but i ended up fixing the oil lek and solved some of my issues.

after all of this my battery died which i thought was understandable
so i put it on a trickle charger for 24 hours and stuck in back in the bike.

i started it and i went about 20 miles, ran beautifully the entire way. went to start it about an hour later and i could tell it was low. got it home shut it off and then tried to restart. barely turned over and didnt have enough juice to crank the bike over. so about 30 miles killed a full charge.

wanted to know if it was the + mod or the charging mod and if anyone has any pointers on the one i need to do i would greatly appreciate it since i have limited knowledge on electrical issues. but a good mechanical know how

·
Upside Down Super Mod,
29,857 Posts
How old is the battery? Maybe the battery is stuffed. :dunno I'm not sure what you were doing to cause it to go flat the 1st time though.

·
Registered
2,799 Posts
:stupid...sounds like battery to me as well but the charging mod is easy...

·
Registered
603 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
battery is 3 months old. i purchased it since the old one kept dying. havent messed with the electrical system except for installing the headlights with ballasts. it was fully charged in the morning and by night it was flat. did no work on the bike that day has to be someting in the charging system

·
Registered
603 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
any idears?

·
TLOTM Sept. '08
1,629 Posts
any idears?
Need data
With your battery 'fully charged' what does the voltage across it read,
when connected but before ignition turned on?
Same, but with ignition & headlights on?
What does the voltage measure across your battery with the engine running?

·