TLZone Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
676 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to riding a big bike like the TL and I am thinking of getting in to riding on the track because its not cool to race or speed on the highways. Even though the nearest track is a few hours away.

I am looking for at track bike and I was wondering what would be a good choice. I want to stay in the mid 90s just do to price, and I dont care if it is wrecked bike or a clean bike, I am only going to strip it and make it in to a track tool. Here are the ones I was considering, remember mid 90s.

YZF600R
YZF750R (yes I found a 96 in fantastic condition with 18k miles)
GSXR600
GSXR750
ZX-6R
ZX-7R
ZX-7RR
CBR F2
CBR F3

I know the 600s are a little lighter but I want to make sure I dont get bored with the power quickly. I know the 600 is higher than abilities but I am leaning towards a 750.

Thanks guys! I know there are some racers here.

·
Registered
6,279 Posts
for me this makes the most sense

paid for it today:D
i know them inside out and they're fast enough for the track in the right hands

·
Registered
11,001 Posts
...lots of guys also like the SV650's...

·
Registered
11,001 Posts
...I wouldn't get one (but I do want an RC31:drool)...

·
Registered
11,001 Posts
...here in Japan the bros 650's with all the extra trick bits were called the RC31's:drool...

·
Registered
2,650 Posts
yes but they're girls bikes and you know it jeff:fooku
Hmmmm.

Doesn't look like a girl's bike to me! This built SV650 has close to 100 rwhp & yes, that's a Penske triple clicker rear shock. That bike can kiss my TLS goodbye in the turns as it can hold way more corner speed! Kind of what you are looking for in a track bike.

Now on the other hand. This bike, well...

This one may have been tuned by a girl or maybe a chef? But it did pass through WERA tech as it had a lower fairing mounted that was able to hold one half quart of oil!

·
Registered
11,001 Posts

·
Registered
2,650 Posts