TLZone Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
G'day all just bought a 99 tl1000s and it now won't start I am a mechanic myself and have cleaned fuel system checked spark and did get it to go
But left it overnight tried to start it again and now it won't go still has spark and the fuel pump is priming but no fire please help there are no fault codes present not sure what else to check for nearly ready to take it to a bike shop any information would be greatly appreciated
Thanks Mick

·
Registered
232 Posts
So just to get the obvious ones out of the way. do you know these bikes? you have to hold the clutch lever in before the starter will engage. also if the engine is in gear it will not crank if the side stand is down regardless of wether the clutch is held or not.
need a little more info, what happens when you press the go button?.

Tom R

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes mate I no that the bike will crank over but will not fire have spark and fuel also

·
Registered
4,193 Posts
G'day all just bought a 99 tl1000s and it now won't start I am a mechanic myself and have cleaned fuel system checked spark and did get it to go But left it overnight tried to start it again and now it won't go still has spark and the fuel pump is priming but no fire please help there are no fault codes present not sure what else to check .....
If you are certain the fuel supply and spark are there, then chances are good that the spark plugs are fuel fouled - especially since you did have it running initially. At that time, if it wasn't warmed up to proper operating temp before it was turned off, the plugs can foul, making it very difficult or impossible to restart. On top of this, the battery must be topped up and strong to provide a decent spark. If the battery voltage sags below 10V during cranking, it is part of the problem.

Try a new set of plugs with a strong battery and let us know what happens.

·
Registered
4 Posts