TLZone Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi chaps,

I haven't had much time to post on these forums as of late, being that I am in my final year of (aircraft) engineering; as part of of my final year project I have wanted to design and fabricate a universal engine stand for the assembly/disassembly processes of engines and/or parts. Obviously within our industry they are many different types of engine architecture(s) each with it's own set of physical traits, so implementing some kind of consideration for these into the engineering design is key to success. I would like to manufacture these stands at some point in the near future for other people to benefit.

In the meantime I am in need of some rough dimensions and weight figures, these include the TL-S/R, '1200's and anything else you may have at your disposal:):

1. What is the weight of the engine with and without the injection system fitted? Is the weight the same between TL-S and R models?

2. What are the overall length, width and height dimensions from the maximal (furthest) points?

tlengine photoshop.jpg

3. Personal requirements and/or experiences?

Thanks for the input guys and girls.

Patrick

·
Registered
3,481 Posts
Conceptually what you are doing is a nice idea. Would not a regular hydraulic workbench with a set of adjustable mounts to simulate the various engine mount points be simpler to fabricate? There's a fairly well defined subset of basic bike engine shapes; V-twin, inline 2/3/4/6, single and transverse V-twin (yes CX500 and Guzzi owners, that means you!). Within those forms the points where the bolts go through doesn't tend to vary dramatically so the range of adjustment wouldn't have to be enormous. You could perhaps even include some kind of gimbal mount allowing you to rotate or even invert the motor whilst its being worked on.

I expect Ring-in already has one in his garage. :laugh