TLZone Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Although I’ve been riding a lot of years I’ve never really tampered with the standard settings on my suspension.
I have a completely standard suspension set up (as it left the factory, all standard parts, all standard settings (according to owner’s manual)) when I first got the bike it was set up really soft both back and front now I assume that the guy who owned the bike before spent a lot of time with her in doors on the back and neither of them was a “feather weight” and a comfortable ride was required.

Now as I said I’m a complete novice at this stuff so I’ll give all the details many of which are probably irrelevant.
I am 15 stone give or take a few pounds, I’m top heavy (32-34” waist 48-50” chest) and 5’8” tall. Should I set up the suspension and preload etc to a firmer setting to account for my weight? Also I do tend to ride quite hard, I don’t like cruising!! So would a firmer ride be more advantageous?

Thanks in advance

Work done so far;

Custom exhaust (not TLR)
Power commander 3
K&N filter
Gear indicator with built in TRE
Braided hoses
6 pot callipers
Custom rear foot pegs
Fairing lowers
LED Indicators
Paint job
Loads of other small things

·
Registered
11,029 Posts
For this Google can be your friend even YouTube, there's plenty of set up info to be found,some good instruction videos on YouTube

·
Registered
233 Posts
I upgraded my '97 TLS as follows: Bitubo rear shock ($550 USD) and Race Tech .95 Kg front springs with #5 fork oil and have found it a significant upgrade, if not a little on the stiff side for 'cruising'. There are a lot of TL owners who fit GIXER & 'Busa front ends on their bikes with little mods.

Best of luck with your TL.

·
Registered
11,029 Posts
Or save a fortune and fit a r1 damper in place of the rotary,and ask tls-ged if he's still got his gsxr forks for sale

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #6