TLZone Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there TLZONE !

I'm pretty new to this so I hope I've posted this in the right place . I've just bought my first 1998 TL1000R . It was in abit of a state so I've stripped all the fairings off and started to give it clean / adjust . I know of a few problems I have like the clutch is slipping slightly but this next one is abit of a new one to me.

I was adjusting the clutch lever whilst sat on the bike and had it running .
It was quite happily sat at around 85degrees idling .

Every now and again the bike would sharply and shortly *HISS* like there was something escaping from somewhere high pressure. Each time this happened my temp would increase , at times by as much as 5 degrees !

I didn't want the bike to overheat so decided to shut it off and look for a water leak but I couldnb't find one anywhere ! No signs of any escaping fluid and my coolant resevoir hasn't dropped at all.

I was wondering if anyone else has had a similar problem or could point me in the right direction ?

Would really appreciate the help ,

Sonny

·
Registered
3,301 Posts
hissing?...and no water leak but temp rises...it could be two diff things...is it hiss when idles or revving?..check under the tank for the vacuum hoses and make sure all are connected and tight and not split..were is the hiss nose coming from ? could be near the tank...

you sort of need to figure out were the noise is located....temp rising..need to make sure your rad is full and free from any air pockets , in case its that and hissing from cap...two areas id look at first..and whatever you do..if people come on here and give advice...come back on and let us know how u go...! :thumbup

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3