TLZone Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey fellas im a newb on here but have a pretty heavy background in mechanical repair. I have a 01 tlr that will not start and definitley sounds like it is getting no fuel. I checked the error code and I am getting nothing. I even took every electrical conection apart to check for bad connections and checked the fuses. I took out the fuel pump and gave it 12 volts and it spat a little fuel at me but i am still not hearing that whinning noise and I know the relay is clicking over. My guess is bad fuel pump what do you all think?

·
The Suck, Squeeze, Bang, Blow Moderator,
15,420 Posts
Check the 4 Pin Connector onto the starter solenoid next to the battery, very common problem. The terminals get loose and start to arc/fry making the problem even worse.

Just fixed that exact same problem to Grinfactor's bike on Sunday :thumbup

·
The Suck, Squeeze, Bang, Blow Moderator,
15,420 Posts
Now go say hello and introduce yourself in the open forum :laugh

Welcome :bigfinger
(The standard welcome smiley)

·
Premium Member
8,251 Posts
Welcome to the Zone.

The plug Sam mentioned is located just above the battery and is under a green cover. They corrode and/or loosen up and cause problems. If that doesn't fix it you can download the service manual where you will find specs for testing the fuel pump.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·