TLZone Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I’m new to the tl platform just picked up a 99 r model with a couple issues high idle all the time 2,000 rpms and a coolant leak from weep hole in cover by water pump what did I get myself into lol

·
Registered
1998 TLS; 2001 TLR; 200X TLRSF
4,508 Posts
Welcome again Dave. :)

Coolant from the weep hole is an indication the WP seal is failing. Someone did a nice write up on the water pump seal replacement not too long ago. I'll see what comes up with a search......

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I got everything apart a couple things seemed odd the impeller bolt was tight but the impeller has a little wiggle in it and with the bolt off the impeller came right off, the other thing was the nut on the water pump gear was loose???

·
Registered
4,508 Posts
..... the impeller has a little wiggle in it and with the bolt off the impeller came right off, the other thing was the nut on the water pump gear was loose???
That is odd. Usually, the impeller is very tight on the shaft, and often difficult to remove.
The loose nut makes you wonder who was in there last.....

20171008_160427 by Tony Six5, on Flickr

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
That is odd. Usually, the impeller is very tight on the shaft, and often difficult to remove.
The loose nut makes you wonder who was in there last.....

20171008_160427 by Tony Six5, on Flickr
Yeap that on on the water pump shaft was finger tight and the gear has some in and out movement idk but I’m gonna tighten it up slap the wp seals in and hope for the best lol

·
Registered
4,508 Posts
Im hoping the loose impeller was due to a seal worn out,
Not likely.
If you look at how the impeller is a functional part of the seals, it is feasible that the wobbly impeller caused the seals to fail, thus the coolant leak.

My reasoning for such a statement: