TLZone Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wanted to say hey ... been reading the forums here for a few months after I saw a TLR for the first time at my local bike shop :drool . I don't have a TL yet but I've been scrimping every scrimpable place I can to save up for one. As soon as I can sell my CBR I should have enough for a TLR.

I also wanted to ask a quick question... would it be bad to buy a salvage title bike if I'm not planning on selling it? All my buddies say it's a bad idea but I just don't see what is wrong with it. :confused

·
Registered
6,760 Posts
Welcome! :bigfinger

We'll be waiting for some nice TLR pictures later on. :thumbup

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
heres a pic of my current baby to hold you over for now :)

sorry for low quality, its a camera phone pic

·
Premium Member
11,457 Posts
I'm no expert but I bought a wreck bike, my first TLS. Maybe I have bad luck but after doing everything to the bike except front fork suspension setup (which was planned). I wreck it three times in the three years I had it. It was wreck with a clear title when I bought it. Possible the frame was tweaked but to be honest I loved the bike and never had a problem riding the hell out of it. I assume I was just too careless on each accident. The last accident fracture my pelvis and it still hurts to this day. The accident was in September. I plan to stick to a lighter, slower bike for on/off road in the future. Right now I have no bike. Now to answer your question if you know the history than maybe or if it for track purposes definitely.

·
Registered
211 Posts
in alabama if you buy a salvage title bike and fix it, even to 100% original quality, you can never have a non-salvage title put on it. in other words you can never change it back. if you buy a salvage bike from out of state, you can't even register it in the state of alabama.

·
Registered
2,630 Posts
Welcome & :bigfinger.