TLZone Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time on the zone and I never thought I'd have this problem but I was ridin my TL when it lost power and I attempted to get home on it.I think the motor then locked up as it cut off and the rear tire stopped.Lucky for me,I was well under 100mph.The right exhaust blew off about 2 months ago and 2 days ago I removed the left exhaust.It runs on Mobil 20w50 synthetic and has 22,ooo mi.Now the motor won't start,I can hear the fuel pump running and the starter clicks.I don't know any mechanics I trust and don't have many tools(I'm female)

·
Moderator,
8,230 Posts
When the motor stalls on the TL the rear tire will lock up. It's just the nature of the beast. You may or may not have a major problem. The best thing to do if you think it's locked up is to remove the spark plugs (so you won't be fighting compression during the next step) and the small screw out plug on the stator cover. Under the cover is a bolt you can put a socket on. Put a socket on it and use a ratchet to try to turn the motor. If it won't turn you probably have a real problem. Let us know what you find out.

·
Registered
7,791 Posts
When it lost power, did you start hearing a knocking sound or felt some strange vibration coming from the motor?

The symptoms you describe lead clearly to rod bearing failure, meaning you will have to strip the motor down to fix it.

Of course, if you can, do what 1crock told you to check if it's locked up already....

·
Registered
2,690 Posts
Left

·
Registered
13,114 Posts
Its the only side with a plug you can remove:doh:laugh

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I tried to hand turn the the bolt with a socket and it wouldn't turn at all.Then drained the oil and checked thru it with magnet searching for any metal but it was clean.So what do I do next?

·
Moderator,
8,230 Posts
Put a rachet on the socket and see if it will turn.

·
Registered
13,114 Posts