TLZone Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm new to the TLS forum, as this is my first post. I just picked up a 2000 TL1000S and it's "naked," with no front cowl/fairing. It's got an aftermarket "Acerbis" Mickey Mouse front light unit, which I am definitely going to replace.

I've been reading up on the ram air system. Mine, unfortunately, doesn't have the ram air tubes. It has a K&N filter in the air box, but, the bottom is open underneath the filter.Just one big gaping hole leading right up into the inside of the K&N air filter inside. My question is, do I NEED the ram air tubes, and, if so, what connects the two tubes, physically, to the underside of the air box?

Also, if anyone HAS two tubes, and (I guess) the bottom part of the air box that connects them, please let me know. I'll buy them from you, ASAP. If not, can someone post a link to any location that sells the tubes and additional parts?

My second question regards turning the TLS into a streetfighter type of bike. From the forum guru's experience, what is the best streetfighter type handlebar set-up to get me into a more "ride-able" upright position? I'm at a toss-up between the Convertibars system and the Spiegler conversion.

Thanks for any input and comments. This looks like one FANTASTIC forum. :hail

Best,

Frank Germano
[email protected]
www.frankgermano.net

·
Registered
354 Posts
hi Frank, just look at ebay for the tubes, 100% that you will find them there...

i used a set of rizoma risers along with their handlebar, gave me a great riding position..

cheers

Ben

·
Premium Member
7,697 Posts
But has the bottom of the airbox been sawed off, and do you also need the short horizontal transfer peice that connects one side thru the frame? The stock airbox sucks, but you don't want to suck in hot air from behind the radiator either. When I had a TLS I mad major mods to the stock airbox.

·
Registered
13,113 Posts