TLZone Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 97 TLS with a cracked frame, do I have to find another TLS frame or will a TLR frame work? I am new to the TL's and don't know all the differences between the years and models.

Thanks

·
Moderator,
8,230 Posts
:no The two are completely different.

·
Registered
13,114 Posts
depending on where the crack is it is easily repaired

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
This could be related to a recall. I seem to remember issues with 1997 TLS frames being replaced here in the states. I had a new tank replaced on my 98 TLS from a recall.. I'm old and my memory is lacking.. Could be too late to do anything about it now..

·
Registered
67 Posts
I have just picked up a 97 TLS, the frame has a slight crack near the head stock, I rang Suzuki and it has an outstanding recall but this is for the Steering damper, the kind man at Suzuki told me If I bring it in and leave it with him for a day, he would fit a replacement damper (as it already has one fitted) and he would check the frame and if it looks to be a faulty frame he will file a claim on my behalf for a free frame, just waiting on the log book and I'm gonna get it booked in.

·
Registered
11,556 Posts
If this is the frame I've seen on Facebook then I think it is a bit beyond repair :dowhat I have access to a number of frames, some with the V5 others without.

Reactions: pedrodetski

·
Registered
67 Posts
Mine is a tiny hairline crack, I have been told by a few people if I can't get it repaired/replaced by Suzuki it would be a simple weld, grind out a V to the end of the crack and build it up with weld but obviously I would like a new frame, but on the other hand if Suzuki replace it with the same frame surely if it's happened to a few people it could happen again :O

·
Registered
26 Posts