TLZone Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this watercooled thing, been riding aircooled bikes since 82'. I remember Miguel Duhamel in the early 90's, riding I think it was the Banco Yamaha YZR500, getting pitched to the tarmac when a coolant hose blew and soaked the rear slick. After a viscious highside of course. It was either him or Freddie Spencer.

I had a oil cooler line melt on the exhaust pipe after passing a van. The whole road was engulfed in thick cloud of black smoke. Luckily it didn't happen earlier as I was blasting with buddy on near triple digit sweepers going over Blewitt Pass in Washington.

·
Registered
1,653 Posts
If you use quality parts, inspect them and/or replace them at the proper intervals, it should never happen. One important parts with a potential failing issue, use Suzuki parts or better, and ride in peace! :thumbup

·
Registered
4,047 Posts
V-twins vibrate... alot. Check your fasteners and like Ghost said... use quality parts. :thumbup I have not had one let go... i keep CLOSE eye on my hoses.. not only for my own safety but for track days... Tech inspection is pass or fail.. no inbetween. :cheers

·
Premium Member
7,697 Posts
If you're serious, get the Samco Silocone hose kit for TLS or TLR.

Ride leader on an ST1000 (believe it or not) blew a water hose a few years back. Not a big problem, just a pain in the ass delay. That's the only time I ever saw it happen.

·
Registered
4,197 Posts
Ever had a look at the stock cooler hoses? They're really thick and robust. I would guess something else blows up before they let go. That's except it has been crashed before and the hose took some serious damage.

Greetings
Rufer

·
Premium Member
3,387 Posts