TLZone Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone please give me a website that sells a good chain and sprocket kit for my 02 tl? Also i dont know what sprocket size to get for front or rear when it asks that question. I have looked on some old forums online but their a couple years old so the sites arent the same. I am new to bikes and this is my first bike so your help would be greatly appreciated. Not looking to spend more that 200 bucks. Ive come to learn riding is expensive. I dont race or anything so it doesnt have to have the best performance.

Thanks
AJ

·
Registered
2 Posts
There are tons of sites for chain and sprocket kits. I currently run -1 in the front +2 in the rear (vortex sprockets), and an EK chain. Cost me just over $200. I had an Odyssey chain on my GSXR 1000 and it lasted just as long as my DID X-ring chain, but cost half the price.

·
Registered
1,014 Posts
PM Speedking. He quoted me a good price on a nice setup.

·
Premium Member
7,697 Posts
But your bike model and location in your profile please.

TL big-twin pulses eat chains. Keep it a bit loose: as the swingarm is short so the chain tightens as the suspension compresses.

The best bang for the buck is to buy very good chain and new sprockets, so the whole set lasts a very long time and you come out ahead in the long run. D.I.D. ZVM-X 530 is the list favorite for long life, and highly recommended. Look at it this way, the twin needs fewer spark plugs than a 4 but you need to spend that savings on better chain. Use a stake-on rivet master link. Get the pressing/staking tools if you don't have them. There's a handy shim that prevents over-tight master, I think RK sells the shim.

Stock sprocket sizes depends on whether you have a TLR or TLS. Changing the final ratio can make huge difference in the bike's character, but requires an electronic box to correct the associated speedometer error.

·
Premium Member
7,697 Posts