TLZone Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. Newbie here. I have a 1997 TLS with 12,000 miles. Nice condition. Pulled up the drive from a completely un-eventful ride, turned the motor off,- clutch in, clicked into neutral, sidestand down and got off.
2 hours later, I went to put it away, and turned the ignition on, hit the starter and all I got was a clicking from under the seat.
OK...so I went through ALL the motions of "first options"..relay, starter...blah blah.
Eventually leading me to a deeper problem perhaps. I removed the LH crank cover and manually tried to crank the motor. It reaches a point, then hits a hard stop.
My first thought was a timing issue, maybe caused by a jumped timing chain, then getting a dinged valve.
I pulled the rear plug and with a wood dowel, I cranked to determine that the piston is reaching and peaking TDC, but the motor hits a hard stop just at that point of rear peaking over TDC. Timing chains, decomp, tensioners all look in fantastic shape. Putting a rubber stopper on the end of the dowel and cranking, I'm getting compression, making me understand that there is no issue with valves not seating.
Moving to the front, I removed the radiator and front plug, and repeated the same procedure. In the case of the front, the piston will not reach TDC before the hard stop is felt. The stumper is this. Using the same procedure with the rubber stopper, I am getting compression. The timing chains, tensioners, decomps...all look in fantastic shape. Since I'm getting compression, it follows that there is no issue with the valves seating.
I can only conclude that it is not an issue with the top end, unless ANYBODY can help me with knowledge of a similar scenario!

·
Registered
1998 TLS; 2001 TLR; 200X TLRSF
4,342 Posts
Welcome to the Zone!

How you are able to do this 'compression test' when the engine "hits a hard stop" in its rotation is a little confusing.