TLZone Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody first off wanna say that I'm new to the site an new to the tl series bike.
Anyways I just got a 97 tl1000 an have done a little research already an tore into it a little bit.
I pulled the plugs there brand new the coils look to be new also but no spark so I pull the wires off the coils I'm gets 11 volts to the positive side with the key on an when cranking. So I check the negative side an yes I know the negative side is what comes on an off to give you the spark so I hit the button cranks but no negative(I contacted my meter to the battery so I knew I was getting positive). I have little experience with bikes but know pretty much about cars I'm thinking ecu is bad not sending out the signal to spark. I figured I'd get some ppls opinion that know more about bikes.Am I correct? If not could u point me in the direction to get the problem fixed. Thanks

·
Premium Member
7,697 Posts
Meter might not show the coil power because it's short and not constant. Might try an LED instead. Better yet, connect coil and a spark plug, ground the plug...even then the spark is hard to see in daylight, the spark in free air looks pretty feeble when it's really fine.

Normal routine maintenance is to trim 1/4" off each end of the spark plug high-voltage wires, and replace then every 10 years. The SV1000 spark plug cap is a little better, so are teh SV1000 coils.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have also tried the test light I for got to put that in there but when the meter wasn't showing anything I went to that just in case the meter wasn't picking up. Also that was the first thing I did I pulled the plugs an grounded them to the frame an nothing no spark.