TLZone Forums banner

How to: Remove and re-install wheels (complete beginner's guide)

36K views 30 replies 22 participants last post by  M5James 
#1 ·
Disclaimer: This guide, whilst very detailed, is intended to complement the workshop manual and not replace it. If you are in any doubt as to your abilities to safely carry out work on your machine, get someone to help you or pay a garage to do it for you.

You are ultimately responsible for your own work :)

How to:

Firstly, apologies that this thread is so detailed. My logic being that people familiar with working on bikes aren't really going to need this thread as removing wheels is a pretty much every-day job. It's therefore aimed at people who are relatively new to working on bikes.

Some info:

The bottle jack you see in this thread is a cheapy from Halfords. It's plenty good enough for lifting bikes.

A regular 12 sided socket (above) is what you get in most socket sets. I prefer to use impact sockets (below) which are six-sided and drive on the flats of nuts rather than on the corners. Much less chance of rounding off nuts. If you can only afford one set of sockets, go for 6 sided if possible as they're more versatile

Keeping removed nuts organised means you don't miss anything out and you don't lose anything.

Latex gloves keep all sorts of nasty chemicals and grime off your hands.

However, latex doesn't last long when it comes in contact with petroleum based products such as paraffin or Vaseline. Vinyl is petrol resistant but more sweaty.

Removing the wheels: before you raise the bike off the ground

Use a breaker arm and 36mm socket to loosen off the rear axle nut.

Slacken the front pinch bolts using a six-sided socket. Loosen them right off then remove them, but do them evenly and not one at a time.